“Merry Christmas”

I received a Christmas card a couple of years ago that ignited something inside of me.  After being overwhelmed with work, and the crazy business of the holiday season, I opened this card and was mesmerized by the words on the front of the card.  It completely transformed my way of thinking and the stress that I was feeling just seemed to vanish as I read the words. 

JESUS – Son of god – Everlasting Light – Wonderful Counselor – I Am – Bread of Life – Anointed One – Alpha and Omega – Prince of Peace.

The inside of the card said – “In Celebration of the One who is EVERYTHING”.

So strange to think that your mind can be transformed just by words off of a Christmas Card.  But truly, these words have such GREAT meaning.   They explain EXACTLY why it is we celebrate Christmas.  They explain just why we speak the words MERRY CHRISTMAS. 

For me that day, as I read the words, I kept saying “Yes Lord!  This is why we celebrate!  This is why this holiday is sacred!  And this is why we wish people Merry Christmas!” 

Because, “He’s my Saviour, He’s my Jesus and He’s the Everlasting Light.  The Son of God, the Wonderful Counselor, and He is the Bread of Life.  He’s the Alpha and Omega, and the Anointed Prince of Peace.  The Great I Am who came to Save us.  And He’s the One and Only KING!”   —  “And that’s why we wish you a Merry Christmas.  That’s why we sing the wonderful songs.  That’s why we celebrate the season, when everyone seems to get along.  That’s why we share the love, the joy and the peace and everything that He taught us to do, and that’s why we wish a Merry Christmas to you! “

God gave me those lyrics that day to a song I wrote called “That’s Why We Wish You a Merry Christmas”.   I am so thankful for this song, because in the midst of the business and the stress that seems to always come with the holiday season, I can sing that song, and remind myself there is a REASON for the SEASON.  I can know and keep in my own heart the TRUE meaning of Christmas.  And even as the world tries to take “Christ” out of Christmas and turn it into a secular “holiday”, it will NEVER lose it’s meaning for me, and they can never take away what Christ has done for me in my life.

Lately, I have come to realize the importance of both the written and the spoken WORD.  It is highly important that we speak what we believe.  Christmas is such a great time to share the gospel and proclaim what you believe and each and every one of us has the opportunity to choose between one phrase or the other and state your beliefs.  Will you choose this year to say “Happy Holidays” to go along with what the world is trying to conform us to?  Or will you STAND for what you believe and say “MERRY CHRISTMAS” and know and share with others what you believe and why you celebrate?

My prayer is that you will choose to use YOUR words to stand for the God who is Everything, and let people know that YOU know why you celebrate and why you say “MERRY CHRISTMAS”!

Love and Blessings to you this Christmas!  May you be bold and stand for what you believe, not just at Christmas, but all through the year.

 

You can listen to my song “That’s Why We Wish You a Merry Christmas” and purchase via download or by CD by visiting my Music Website.

http://yvettemedinamusic.com/christmasImager

Leave a Reply

