“Choices”

How powerful is this one word? – “Choices”

I think that it is so wonderful that God has given us free will to make our own choices in this life, but yet, what a HUGE responsibility. How we choose from day to day not only affects our own lives, but also those around you as well. There are so many choices to make on any given day. It can be overwhelming to think of them all and how they will affect you. I mean really, if you think about it, the very first choice just to crawl out of bed has a huge impact on your life and those around you. If you choose to lay in bed all day, what does that say about you? If you don’t get up, get ready, go to work, what does that do to those around you? Maybe your kids will have to get up and make their own breakfast, or find their own way to school. Someone else will have to go out and make money, pay for the kids lunches and other bills, all because you CHOSE to stay in bed. I know it’s a silly example, but truly, every choice you make in this life has an impact.

Sometimes I think that we make choices never realizing or understanding that other people are affected by them. Sometimes we don’t realize that there will be consequences to our choices and often times that one simple choice can change your entire life and sometimes someone else’s.

Every day I have a choice even with just the words that speak. Will I use them to lift people up – or tear people down. When I feel an inspiration for song – Will I choose to write it down and follow through with it – or just let the words and melody be there for the day and then float away out of my mind and never think about it again? If I never write it down, never record it, and never share it, how will it ever touch another person’s soul?

Wow – just that last sentence…. How will it touch a person’s soul? What if we all thought about that with every single decision we make in this life? Would that change how you make decisions?

Thank the Lord for the Holy Spirit that He gives to guide us when making choices. I pray for discernment daily in my life. I have made so many wrong choices in this life, and I know my decisions have affected other people, but I pray that God gives me wisdom and helps me to make better choices day by day. Not just for the routine choices that come up every day – but especially for those BIG ones when you know, the choice I make now, can change a person’s life. I’m so thankful that He is a God of second, and third, and fourth chances… and even when I don’t always make good ones, He still gives me the free will to make my own “Choices.” What an Awesome God!

Leave a Reply

