Growing in Jesus

Looking back at my life and when I think about hard times and when I would pray, the thing that comes to my mind is my attitude after. If I didn’t get the answer that I wanted, just like a child, I would get angry with God and then the next time I went to pray, I would stop myself and say “He’s not going to answer anyway.” Wow – how immature is that? I find myself feeling very ashamed for those times and I have asked for forgiveness. I found myself thinking of this as I had a prayer over the last couple of days go unanswered. But even as I was praying for this request and asking God for a miracle, I did tell Him, “No matter what, I will still praise you! I will not turn my back on you this time like I have in the past. I love you too much Lord to do that. I will still love you even if I don’t get the outcome I am looking for.” So, to my disappointment, my day did come to an end, and I didn’t get the answer I was hoping for. Now, two days later, I found myself with another request that I needed to bring forth, and wouldn’t you know it, those old thoughts still crept up into my head! But this time, I refused to allow them to keep me from praying. I went boldly before the throne again and talked to Jesus and told Him the desires of my heart. I may not always understand why some prayers get answered and others don’t, but I will NOT stop praying. I have learned to trust that HE knows the reasons why, and HE sees the big picture where I am not able to see or know what is best for me the way that He does. I cling to Romans 8:28 that tells me “All things work together for good, to those who love God and are called according to His purpose.” And though I may not see it now, it is still my job to Trust my God and know that He will work things out, even when I can’t see it happening yet. It feels good to know, that I have grown in love, trust and faith, and most importantly, I’ve grown in Jesus.

One thought on “Growing in Jesus

  1. I, thank you for your Commitment to your God. Your God is my God, also. He is where My Faith lies. Your Homer was my Homer.
    It brings a tear to my eye.To think about our dog. He was a very loyal dog with un-conditional Love. I so wish that we as Humans were that way in our lives. Thank you so much for the Reminder! I love you!

Leave a Reply

