In the Midst of Tragedy

In the wake of yesterday’s devastating tornado tragedies, I can’t help but watch those affected and wonder what they must be thinking. Such devastation in so many lives all at one time and all that happened so very quickly. So many lives lost, so many homes destroyed, as well as businesses, schools and hospitals. The mind is a very hard thing to control, and the Bible tells us to still give Praise in the midst of hard times. It is a choice to make and it is so easy when things get hard to get discouraged instead of give praise. It is something I deal with every time a storm comes my way. I recently wrote a song that simply says 3 words over and over “I Praise You – I praise you – I praise you” so that when things are so very hard for me, I will say it over and over and over and remind myself that no matter what – I will continually praise Him. I know that the storms in my life are NOTHING compared to what the people in Oklahoma are going through right now. My heart breaks for them. I am lifting every one of them in prayer today that they might find God in their midst, seek His comfort and still make the choice to Praise Him somehow and trust and know that He will bring them through this awful tragedy. I was reading Psalm 71 and this is my prayer for all of those affected today. May God bring healing and restoration to Oklahoma and rise them up from this devastation and destruction so that they will be made whole once more.

Psalm 71
20 Though you have made me see troubles,
many and bitter,
you will restore my life again;
from the depths of the earth
you will again bring me up.
21 You will increase my honor
and comfort me once more.

22 I will praise you with the harp
for your faithfulness, my God;
I will sing praise to you with the lyre,
Holy One of Israel.
23 My lips will shout for joy
when I sing praise to you—
I whom you have delivered.
24 My tongue will tell of your righteous acts
all day long,

Leave a Reply

